Oregon Blueberry Muffins

I have been comtemplating on a new name. When I first started this blog, I wanted a way to vent out different aspects of life. However after looking at other blogs, I think I need to change the feel and subject matter. I’m thinking on (with names) Tea Time with SB, or something similar. Therefore the blog would have entries such as one would find in a conversation over tea. Very similar to what I would normaly talk about but less aggressive. I also want to talk about food. I have read several food blogs; they lift my mood
the majority of the time. I love to cook, though usually I do not have the time to cook elborate dishes or take pictures. However, I can at least share the mood I am in or the recipes I want to try or have tried. I hope my blog would become a sourse of inspiration like the other blogs I have enjoyed reading. Here is a recipe I have recently tried.

blueberry muffins

Oregon Blueberry Muffins

I love muffins. They seem like the perfect breakfast food because they can be paired with eggs and meat or eaten on their own. Ether way, they satisfy. They also are homey the majority of the time; giving a sweet relaxing treat to anyone who takes the time to eat and savor.
My family used to vacation in Oregon. Our cousins live there, and we had easy access to flights. The vacations were always taken during berry season; this completely planned. Our family would go to a berry farm right before heading out to the cabin and pick massive amounts of berries. One time the number was 33 pounds, not including raspberries, maronberries, and the occasional strawberries. The 33 pounds were blueberries. And we ate every last one of them. Here is one if the recipes my mother would make with a few variations of my own.

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour + 1 Tbsp separated

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup milk

2 1/2 cups blueberries

Sugar for topping

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add one egg at a time.  Sift the dry ingredients together (minus 1 Tbsp of flour). Add the dry ingredients to creamed mixture alternating with the milk.  Beat until well mixed.  Dust the blueberries with the flour, and fold the blueberries in by hand.  Fill muffin tins lined with paper cups until 2/3 full.  Sprinkle tops with granulated sugar. Bate at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Tips for muffins: If the muffin batter does not fill all the tins, fill the rest with half full with water.  Also leave the muffins in their tins for five minutes after coming out of the oven.  Then place on wire rack to cool, or  eat with a glass of milk or coffee.

P.S. I did not use paper linings for my muffins.  Bad idea!  The hubby likes just popping them in his mouth, but the real blueberries made the muffins slightly fall apart.

This entry was posted in Breads, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

