Chocolate Covered Friendship

My mother-in-law recently gave me a book with the same title. (yes, that is their title not mine, I’m borrowing it.). I skimmed through it and found it really to be a testimony of a chocolieter’s friends and friendship with a few recipes in the middle of it. Of course I think I may want to read it more closely considering I have come to believe something similar about my friends. Friendship is one of those hard to grasp concepts that everyone tries so hard. The movies make it seems so attainable yet sometimes it slips though the parties’ fingers before they cab do anything about it. Circumstances change and make the friendships difficult to maintain. The great attribute about friendships based on a similar belief in Christ is the knowledge that one day you will unite and have the friendship renewed for eternity. When I get extremely sad about leaving a community of people, I remember that those who share my beliefs will be a the “Grand Reunion” A.K.A.The big party in the sky. But I do not want to get too theological on anyone so I will leave that thought behind.
Recently I celebrated a friend’s passage from single-womanhood to belonging to a man. I made chocolate covered strawberries plus other items to help everyone at the celebration to not feel hungry or homesick. Little did I know she LOVES chocolate covered strawberries. I think she may have eaten a total of about ten in two sittings, which actually isn’t hard to do if one loves them. As I ponder her upcoming mariage, I well up with tears because she has deserves the man to absolutely adore her. She is so loving and so comforting. Rich and wonderful on the outside, overflowing and bright on the inside. Everytime i am with her, I become much happier and less shallow person. If I had to describe her meaning in my life, it would be as a chocolate covered strawberry. She is good for the soul.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Strawberries, whole
1 cup Semi-sweet chips or white chcoclate chips
1 Tablespoon vegatable oil

Wash and completely dry the strawberries.
Melt the chocolate with the oil in a heat proof bowl over simmering water. Constantly stir the chocolate until it is mostly melted. Then take off the heat.
Dip the strawberries into the chocolate and place on wax paper. Let them dry.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Covered Friendship

  1. Alisha says:

    Ah! I’m falling behind on my website…I haven’t had time…I LOVE this post 🙂 and I LOVE chocolate covered strawberries too…might go make some later tonight in fact 🙂

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Truffles « Tea with SB

  3. Pingback: Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Scones | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

