My Tomato Sauce

I used to not like spaghetti because I only had the jarred stuff; this recipe makes me love the pasta dish.  This recipe also makes me  feel like an Italian mother, the emperess of my kitchen, and conqueror of life’s problems. Cooking truly is my therapy.   This is a combination of marinara sauce, tomato sauce, and my own tastes.  I usually make it for spaghetti, something my husband stated he really likes and missed having, and pizza sauce.  If it is the pizza sauce I usually drain the crushed tomatoes a bit to make the sauce thicker.  When I make it, I leave it simmering until I need it for dinner.  It has a fabulous smell and fills the house with the scents of those I envy, the Italians.  Also this recipe does not include onions, the hubby does not like it as much when I put some in there.  If you want some, add before the garlic, basil, and red pepper flakes.

Bowl of Pasta

Tomato Sauce

This would be classified as “cooking” not baking.  The measurements are completely up to you and your own taste buds.

Olive oil (I use extra virgin)

3 Tablespoon garlic, minced

1 Tablespoon red pepper flakes

4 Tablespoon basil (chopped, about 10-12 medium leaves)

3 gulps of red wine (plus more for yourself)

1 can (28 ounce) crushed tomatoes

3 chopped tomatoes

Salt and pepper to taste

Optional: dried Italian seasoning, rind of parmesan cheese, about 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, chopped onion, sautéed mushrooms, onion powder, cream, etc. (I use Italian seasonings, rind of parmesan cheese, and tomato paste.)

In a medium saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat until it is rippling.  Add the garlic,  half of chopped basil, and pepper flakes.  Saute until fragrant.  Add the wine.  Cook down for about 2 minutes.  Add the crushed tomatoes and chopped tomatoes; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add the rest of the basil, salt, pepper, and other ingredients.  Add to hot sausage and angel hair pasta, ground beef and spaghetti, use in lasagna (make two batches), or use as pizza sauce.

Makes about 3 cups.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Tomato Sauce

  1. adonohoe says:

    Ok, sounds easy enough, and so yummy…maybe you’ll convert me from the Prego 😉 haha! Thanks for posting!

  2. Pingback: Donohoe Pot Roast « Ganache

  3. Pingback: Sick Days « Ganache

Leave a Reply

