To Frost or Not to Frost

No matter how often or not so often my sister comes down to visit, we always seem to find a way to make cinnamon rolls. Those could consist of opening a can and placing them in a baking dish because we can’t do much more with our brains, or baking for hours to form beautiful rolls of goey goodness. When I graduated from college, she made overnight cinnamon rolls. These were good, but they toke way too long. And usually I do not plan ahead. After a couple of times of wanting to hand make the confections, but not having all the time in the world. I looked on my end-all source for recipes: allrecipes.com. I found a recipe for 90 Minute Cinnamon Rolls. Now I only have to take about two hours of my time making our sisterly staple and the ability to have cinnamon rolls when I am craving them for breakfast. I was blessed with a kitchen that has bar stools. This past weekend she propped herself up on a stool with a cup of tea and her computer. I do not know what she was planning on doing on her computer. We talked the entire time, and she didn’t accomplish much. This is my favorite pastime. Me whipping up something delicious while someone sits watching me, making suggestions and discussing the latest news in their lives.

cinnamon rolls

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Courtesy of Allrecipes.com

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 (.25 ounce) package instant yeast
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Heat the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbles, then remove from heat. Mix in margarine; stir until melted. Let cool until lukewarm.
In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 1/4 cup flour, yeast, sugar and salt; mix well. Add water, egg and the milk mixture; beat well. Add the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring well after each addition. When the dough has just pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth, about 5 minutes.
Cover the dough with a damp cloth and let rest for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, cinnamon, softened margarine.
Roll out dough into a 12×9 inch rectangle. Spread dough with margarine/sugar mixture. Sprinkle with raisins if desired. Roll up dough and pinch seam to seal. Cut into 12 equal size rolls and place cut side up in 12 lightly greased muffin cups or in a casserole dish. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until browned. Remove from pan to cool. Serve warm.

Makes 12 rolls.

Now comes to question of toppings.  The hubby prefers frosting.  The recipe did not originally come with frosting because the rolls are already so sweet.  I would have to agree with this; however, my husband does not believe the cinnamon roll is complete unless there is frosting.  I tried to make a Vanilla Glaze, but that was not what he had in mind.  I think what he wants is a Cream Cheese Frosting.  I do not have one that I prefer above others, so please find one you enjoy and serve.  And let me know what it is.  I have several rolls I need to have eaten and would like not to eat my weight in cinnamon rolls.  🙂

This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

