"Cocktail Time"

The famous Sandra Lee always says, “it’s cocktail time” at the end of her show, and makes something wonderful to go with her meal.  This combination does not really go with any particular meal; however, I love this salsa.  I made the Texas Caviar with a Dirty Blue Cheese Martini this afternoon, all the while I felt that I had a Julia moment.  (Being Julia Child of course.  The movie is coming out tomorrow!!!! I am so excited.)  I was on the phone with a friend, talking about a martini another friend loves, making the martini, and beginning to make the salsa.  So I proceeded to make the martini, while on the phone.  Then I drank the martini while making the “caviar”.  I think Julia used to say, “some for the pot, and some for me.”  The martini I drank was sweet and salty, and very strong.  It is a slightly dirty, vodka martini with three blue cheese olives.  I used 1 1/2 ounces of vodka, three dashes of sweet vermouth, a dribble of olive juice, and the blue cheese stuffed olives.  Shaken of course in my pink sparkly shaker.  (Yes, it is very girly!)  It is very good.  I will defiantly make it again when I need something to sip thats salty and sweet.  With this salsa it is perfect.

I got the recipe for Texas Caviar from my mother.  I do not know where it orginated from, but it is good none the less.  The massive amounts of ingredients might seem a bit daunting, but have no fear, this recipe makes a ton of salsa and is very easy.  The black eyed peas and corn give a creamy sweet texture, and the cilantro, onions, and green pepper give it a bite!  I used a bit more hot sauce than called for, but I like things hot! I hope you gather some friends around, make martinis or margaritas, eat, and share your lives.

Texas Caviar

Texas Caviar

2 cans of black eyed peas, rinsed
4 large roma tomatoes
1 green bell pepper
1/2 bunch of cilantro
1 bunch of green onions, all of the white parts with some green
1 small red onion
2 cloves of garlic, minced
8 ounces Zesty Italian Dressing
3 dashes of hot sauce
1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Cut the first six ingedients into similar sizes (usually the same size as the black eyed peas).  Stir together and add the garlic, dressing, hot sauce, and ground black pepper according to taste.  Chill, and serve with tortilla chips.  This salsa is better the longer it sits, and will keep up to a week.

Makes A LOT!!!!  Probably enough for a large party.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

