Julie and Julia

We ate at 1030 PM, dinner not dessert nor a snack, but dinner. The long story is this: this morning I was out of bed waiting to see the newest movie that belonged in my “Happy” category. We started in lawn work, and ran into difficulties. This postponed our adventure to the movie theater.  So around 4 PM we arrived at the movie theater (a little late) expecting to get a good seat. The theater was packed!!! We had to step over several people to get a decent seat. This made me a bit happy because the movie might have some popularity.  All throughout the movie, I was so happy, and HUNGRY!!  It is a pretty decent film that might be a bit shallow, (as reviewed).  However, I did love it because I loved the happiness and brightness of the film.  And it dealt with my favorite subject: FOOD!   I highly recommend seeing this film soon!  The hubby even liked it, and he is mighty picky about movies!

Then as we were walking out of the theater, he looked over at me with a smile and said, “Would you like to go get the book and make dinner tonight from it?”  YES!!!!  I exclaimed, but I knew it would take more than an hour to make something from this massive book of wisdom. He did not seem to mind having dinner a bit late, and I did not mind spending more time in the kitchen, cooking similar things I saw in the film.  We went to Barnes and Noble, purchased the book, then picked out something from all the dishes we could find.  (The part toke us a bit of time.)  I decided to make Fricassee De Poulet A L’Ancienne for dinner (Old-fashioned Chicken Fricassee with Wine-flavored Cream Sauce, Onions, and Mushrooms).  Then he asked what I was cooking the rest of the week.  My eyes got big… I had no idea.  So we decided for Sunday I would make the famous Boeuf Bourguignon.  (Everyone in the movie loved it.)  So tomorrow I will see how it goes.

chicken dish 2 the books

Oh goodness, did that dish take a long time to make!!!  The recipe calls for the chicken to be slightly browned in butter, then floured, then browned some more, then stewed in broth.  The broth is then reduced (toke so much longer than I thought), and cream, egg yolks, and butter were added.  Mushrooms and onions were sauteed separately and added to the dish at the end. I served it with buttered noodles as per the book.  The hubby loved it!!! (I think I should get him a nickname.)  I adored it as well, though I have a problem deeply enjoying something I stood in the kitchen making for two hours.  We finished off the meal with chocolate and almond gelato we purchased at the Fresh Market.  Oh it was a glorious meal.  And I was exhausted.  We went to bed to relax.  I tried to write this blog, but I fell asleep before I could do a sentence.  And I slept forever.  But I loved every minute of making that dish.  And my copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking has splatter-ings over two of the pages.  🙂

flowers chicken dish

I decided this morning that I should probably re-read the book French Women Don’t Get Fat along with the cookbook.  It would help me put some perspective on the subject.  Also Julia wrote in the forward “I do think the way to a full and healthy life is to adopt the sensible system of ‘small helpings, no seconds, no snacking and a little bit of everything’.  Above all- have a good time!”  I am so excited to start reading it!!!  I would include the recipe for the above dish; however, I think one should go buy the book.  😉

roses

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

