Raiding the Pantry

There is truly nothing like a proper brewed cup of tea.  I sometimes forget because time and effort cannot afford themselves to the time it takes to boil water, brew the tea in a teapot, and pour the tea into a separate cup.  It is heavenly.  I might have to invest in a small teapot for my work, but I do not think it will last at all!

Yesterday morning I wanted to spend some time in my kitchen making a semi healthy breakfast before diving into the encyclopedia of Mastering the Art of French Cooking, from here on out known as Julia’s book, and feeling the pounds of butter seep into my thighs.  Saturday’s episode of Giada at Home, featured a Ricotta, Raspberry, and Granola Parfait.  This sounded ideal.  After shopping for my items, I arrived home and did not quite make it to the kitchen.  My bed was calling me.  However, yesterday afternoon, I think I was able for the task.  A friend and I walked around Williams and Sonoma, and the urges to get into my kitchen when strong yet again.  I had told her, I always seem to have a day to rest from the oven, stove top, cutting board, and refrigerator, but that never seems to last more than the one day.  The next day I want to spring something delicious to whoever will eat it.  So I decided, instead of buying the granola for this morning’s parfait, I wanted make it!

DSC02648 DSC02655

However, this granola is going to get a new name.  It is, and will forever be, called:  Raiding-the-Pantry Granola.  I do have a recipe, but it never seems that I have the exact stuff.  So I looked through my mess of a pantry; found the brown sugar, bought some new honey this morning, found cranberries and raisins, found the wheat germ, dang it, where is the oatmeal?  I cannot have granola without oats! Ug my husband is right, I have no idea what is in this place!!!!  Where are they?  Ah ha, I knew it, they are under the months old crustinis and crackers. Ha ha yet again score for me on knowing what is in here!! Yes, I talk to myself in my head!  Then I could not find the honey!  I bought the honey this morning at the store!!!  Where is it?  Where had I placed the stupid honey bear?  Yes I even looked in the fridge.  But I had placed it in the cabinets where it does not belong.  So the bear was put back in it its proper place.  So here is my Raiding-the-Pantry Granola.

Cooked Granola

Raiding-the-Pantry Granola

3 cups of old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup wheat germ
1 cup of rice chex (yes, I raided my pantry)
1 cup whole almonds, roughly chopped
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Mix this all together in a big bowl, and preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat this over medium heat until the brown sugar is melted.  Yes, it will be separated.  Pour over the dry ingredients, mixing as you go along.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until slightly crispy. Stirring occasionally.

Add 1-2 cup raisins and/or dried cranberries when done baking.  Store in an air tight container.

Makes: 4 cups ?

The Parfait

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raiding the Pantry

  1. Amanda mason says:

    Honey! I just read your blog for first time and it is so completely you. Sounds like you talking in breakroom. I love it.

  2. I’m going to the grocery store tonight and buying things for the parfait!! Going to have it before work in the morning. Also, thinking about tamale casserole tonight. I’ve been using my French press for tea lately…it works REALLY well. You could get a small one of those for work.

  3. Hannah says:

    Hey beautiful. The granola looks incredible. I’ll have to try it some time. I whipped up something for artichokes that my friend Jen tried. It’s wonderful. I’ll email you about it later. Just wanted to drop you a note that you have inspired me to cook again. 🙂 Love you! And your blog is wonderful; keep it up.

Leave a Reply

