Nothing Like It

I have rediscovered the love for butter.  If you have noticed,  I have tried to bake out of Julia’s book for sometime.  It has reintroduced me to butter.  The other day I was sauteing mushrooms in butter to put in a maxed out hash-browns for my hubby.  Actually he makes the hash-browns, I do not have the patience for them.  While I was eating the omelet that also included the mushrooms as well as the hash-browns, I noticed a velvety-ness and sweetness to the mushrooms.  I also noticed it to the onions.  Wow, now I know exactly what Paula Deen, Julia, and Julie were talking about.  This is fabulous!  I will definitely have to start going to the gym for this kind of meal.  It is so good.  If you do not believe me and want to somewhat watch your waistline, please go by the 50/50 Smart Balance , saute those mushrooms in about 2 tablespoons.  The key to sauting mushrooms is not to crowd the pan.  Melt the butter in a saute pan.  Place about five or six in the pan (depending on the size), the saute until browned and softened.  The mushrooms will soak up as much butter as they need, then use a slotted spoon to scoop them out.  Place more mushrooms in the butter.  Repeat.  They are so delicious.  Make a simple omelet and put them in it.

I have to admit.  I am somewhat in a cooking rut.  Partly because I am tired, and partly because the food budget is limited.  This seems to be a problem with everyone.  There are already two shows on

the Food Network dealing with small budgets.  I have watched a few of them.  I am defiantly wanting to make the sausage and mushroom bread puddings.  I have tons of cubed bread, and want some more sautéed mushrooms. 😉

IMG_0608IMG_0611

I am currently making my Bread, white with Italian seasoning.  Something happened that never has happened when I make bread before.  I used less flour.  This time around I wanted to mix it by hand because I had the time, and wanted to play with food.  But I  used less flour.  Oh well, bread is not mainly measurements, but how the dough feels.  I had already mixed the two flours together with the seasonings, so I just used the extra to keep the dough from sticking to my hands and the counter.

A recipe I can give you is for Hummingbird Food.  We recently got a feeder to put outside my kitchen window.  My mother LOVES hummingbirds and constantly was refilling her feeders when I was young.  I asked her for the recipe and this is it.   The little birds were at my feeder, though it had nothing in it, trying to get the last drop of food.  They have been at the feeder ever since I have put some more food out there.  I love watching their little wings beat.

hummingbird

Hummingbird Food

1 part sugar (1/2 cup)
4 parts hot water (2 cups)
Couple drops of red food coloring

Dissolve the sugar in the hot water, and add the food coloring.  Pour into a feeder and watch the hummingbirds come and eat.  🙂

This entry was posted in Breads, Food, Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing Like It

  1. Hannah says:

    Hey wonderful. You will have to get Tony to give me tips on hashbrowns. My hashbrowns always turn out not hashbrown like. I like your idea of putting mushrooms in them. I’ll have to try it next time.

Leave a Reply

