Seasons Changing

Tea for today: Honey-bush, sipped with honey

Yes I realize the seasons do not officially change until September 21st.  And yes, I am going to try to wait until Labor Day to put out my fall decorations.  I am just so giddy about Fall appoarching.  It has to be my favorite season.  I do love Christmas, but I think Fall symbolises change for me, much more than New Years.  I guess my school habits are over; summer is coming to an end, and it is time to make some changes.  To get into a routine and begin to enjoy life’s little pleasures without the presures of summer vacations, cook-outs, and family outings.  These of course are mostly fictious because life’s routine is usually normal for me, Whether summer or fall.

fall1


I love the chill in the air.  The changing of the leaves to beautiful brillant colors.   Recently I visited Montana during the fall, and I must say two things.  1. The season dates (when they begin) follow the northern standard.  In the South, the weather is hot, warm, and cool.  Not much else.  2. Montana has one of the most beautiful falls.  They were splendid.  I will post some pics. The leaves turned every different shade of red, orange, and yellow.  Beautiful!

fall3

I also love Fall’s food.  Apples, pumpkins, butternut squash, cranberries, sweet potatoes, etc.  They are blended with my favorite spices, and voila a treat for my mouth.  This past week, I wanted so badly to open a can of pumpkin and make my wonderful pumpkin bread.  I wanted to cook a huge pot of chili and sit watching football with people surrounding me.  But since I was working, and did not have much time, nor ingredients I tried to cook a delicious meal that would remind me of fall.  It is defiantly for those who have sensitive palates because some might say it is not very flavorful.  Also I used the idea for Giada.  I do not remember the show or the recipe, but I knew she used butternut squash and shrimp. So here is my creation.

Fall Pasta with Shrimp

1/2 pound rigatoni
1/2 pound shrimp
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 package of pureed “winter squash” or butternut squash, thawed
1/4 cup white wine
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 tablespoon Tony Chachere’s Cajun Seasoning (according to taste)
Pepper
1 tablespoon butter
3 tablespoons cream
5 leaves of fresh sage, chopped

Bring water to a boil.  Salt the water and cook the pasta according to the packaged directions or until al dente.  Heat the olive oil in a saute pan over medium heat.  Toss the shrimp with 1/2 of the seasonings minus the sage.  Saute the shrimp for about 2-3 minutes, until just barely cooked.  Add the white wine and bring to a boil slightly.  Then stir in the puree, the rest of the seasonings, the butter, and the cream.  Season to taste.  Then sprinkle 1/2 of the sage.  Drain the pasta, and add to the pan.  Mix to combine.  Add the rest of the sage and season to taste.  Serves about 2. Garnish with parmesan cheese.

pasta

This entry was posted in Food, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

