French Goodness, Part 2

As I have been looking through Julia’s book, I plan many many recipes I wanted to try.  This past week, I wanted to make a special dinner for my honey and myself.  The house is so much more comfortable, and I can use the time to cook.  I tried to make Chicken Simmered in Cream with Onions, Oven Fried Zucchini, Chocolate Mousse, and Champagne.  Everything but Chocolate Mousse and the Champagne were not that great.  The Chicken Fricassee with Onions and Mushrooms were much better.  The stupid zucchini was not edible, so I made buttered peas.  I think peas should be something in addition to a dish, not as a separate side dish.  However, the chocolate mousse was fabulous.  And the longer it sat in the fridge, it got better and better!!!  Here’s how I did this…  The original recipe is from Julia’s book.  My honey thought it tasted like chocolate pudding, but the next day he ate the whole thing, minus the small amount he set aside for my lunch that night.

chocolate mousse1

Chocolate Mousse

Courtesy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol. I

2 eggs, separated
½ cup and ¼ cup sugar, super fine will dissolve better
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 ounces bittersweet chocolate
4 tablespoons butter, softened
Pinch of salt

Place a bowel in the freezer.  Whip the egg yolks and sugar until it resembles a thin stream.  Add the vanilla.  Place over a double boiler, and whip over the heated water until it is warm.  Take off and cool over chilled water; whipping until it thickens similar to the consistence of mayonnaise.  Melt the chocolate however you like.  I heated it for 10 seconds in the microwave, then stirred, then 10 seconds again, then stirring.  It only toke me 20 seconds to melt the chocolate.  Then add the melted butter a little bit at a time.  Add to the egg yolk mixture.  Then take the bowl in the freezer and whip the egg whites and salt until stiff peaks form.  Fold ¼ of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture.  Then fold the rest of the whites into the mixtures.  Pour into small cups or pretty glasses.  (I only did two glasses; however, this is too much for one person.  I would suggest this to be 3-4 servings.)  Chill for 2 hours or overnight.  (Overnight it will taste better.)  Serve with whipped cream.

Serves 3-4.

chocolate mousse2

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to French Goodness, Part 2

  1. Mandi says:

    love this post!

Leave a Reply

