Spinach Quiche

In preparing for the week ahead of work, I decided to make myself something delectable to enjoy.  As I have said before, wonderful food is important especially during a stressful time.  So I looked around in my refrigerator and pantry and found frozen spinach, cheese, butter, eggs, and cream.  All of these are inexpensive ingredients and make a beautiful pie crust and quiche.  I stretched out my creative juices and whipped up the quiche.

I used a piecrust recipe for Ina Gartner I think.  The recipe is scribbled on my thanksgiving menu and recipe section.  The quiche recipe is somewhat from the Art of French Cooking, though I toke some ideas from my mother’s recipe and a friend’s recipe. With the piecrust, I used the extra crust I sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and baked into twists.  They were yummy with drizzled chocolate.  I know a homemade piecrust is a bit intimidating, but it really is simple especially with a food processor.  Try it out!  Please it is immensely satisfying.

I hope you enjoy.  The quiche would be wonderful with a garden salad or soup.  As Julia say Bon Appetite!


Pie Crust
Adapted from Ina Gartner

10 tablespoons of butter
1 ½-cup flour
2 tablespoons sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons ice water

Cube and chill the butter, I usually put it into the freezer while I am preparing the rest of the ingredients.  Mix the flour, sugar, and salt together.  Pulse the butter into the flour mixture until small peas like mixture.  Add the water and pulse until a dough starts to form (do not form a ball).  Press the mixture gently into a 4-inch circle on plastic wrap; cover and chill for about 30 minutes. Prepare the quiche filling.  After a time, roll out the dough into an 11-inch circle.  Place into a buttered pie dish.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Prick the bottom of the crust with a fork.  Partially bake for 8-11 minutes until slightly browned.

Spinach Quiche
Adapted from Julia Child

¼ cup shallots or red onion, chopped
2 tablespoons butter, separated
1 ½ cup spinach, frozen but thawed
½ teaspoon salt
1/8-teaspoon pepper
Pinch of nutmeg
3 eggs
½ cup half and half
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1/3-cup cheddar cheese

Heat the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Sauté the shallots or onion until softened.  Add the spinach with the liquid.  Stir with the salt, pepper, and nutmeg.

Whip the egg and half and half together.  Stir in the spinach mixture and pepper.  Pour into the partially baked piecrust.  Sprinkle the quiche with the cheese.  Bake in the 375 degrees oven for 20-35 minutes until the middle is set.

Makes 1 quiche.

This entry was posted in Food, Lunch, Misc. Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spinach Quiche

  1. kodi says:

    You make it. I’ll eat it!

Leave a Reply

