Almost Waffle House Waffles

My dear friends,

Spring is here.  I smelled the perfume in the air as I toke Jack out for a walk.  The pear trees and azaleas have already shown us their beauty and are letting other plants release their vibrant colors.  In my garden, the tomato plants are beginning to have small flowers appear.  I hope their promised fruit will be bountiful.  On this rainy spring morning, I decide to prepare the batter for waffles to surprise the hubby.

He and I are fans of the establishment of Waffle House.  If you have never been, please go with friends.  The restaurant is not “high class” but is a wonderful place to relax and eat fabulous food. Food that calms and comforts.  And I found a clone waffle recipe.  The recipe suggests that one make the batter the night before but that it can be used the present day.  I figured a couple of hours in the refrigerator would be a good compromise.  I am being dreamy in thinking that our future children will wake up on Saturday mornings with excitement because waffles await them.  However, on this morning, my husband and I will enjoy rich waffles with sweet blueberry syrup and pineapple and banana smoothies.

Almost Waffle House Waffles
Adapted from recipes.calputer.com

1 ½ cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
½ cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla
4 tablespoons butter, softened
½ cup half and half
½ cup milk
¼ cup buttermilk

Sift the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.  With an electric mixer, beat the egg in a medium bowl.  Add the sugar, vanilla, and butter and mix until smooth.  Add the half and half, milk, and buttermilk.  Beat until smooth.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and mix until thoroughly combined.  Cover and chill for 15 minutes to overnight.  (The original recipe states that the batter is much better after letting it stand overnight.  I have neither foresight nor patience for this to occur; the most my batter has ever sat was 2 hours.  The waffles were still divine.)

When you are ready to bake, preheat your waffle iron and allow the batter to sit at room temperature for a bit.  Spray your iron with cooking spray to prevent stickage.  Spoon 1/3 to ½ cup of batter into the iron and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until your waffle iron beeps at you, which mine annoyingly does, or the light changes colors..  Some waffle irons have lights that go from red to green when the waffle is finished; however, I find that the amount of time for waffles souly depends on what kind of waffle you like.  Lightly browned, crispy, soft?  It is your choice.  And every waffle iron is different.

Make 4-6 waffles.


A word about waffle irons:  A good friend of mine bought me mine for a wedding present.  And though the life of it has been short, my waffle iron is on the brink.  My mother’s, however, has lasted her my entire life span.  (Not fair.)  I prefer the waffle irons that make small ridges.  This enables the ratio of syrup to “cake” (?) to be greater in my opinion.  My hubby prefers the round waffles, and I do not care if they are round or square.  Small ridges, large holes, round or square, this is completely up to you.  However, I do believe in nonstick surfaces and removable plates.  This enables easy clean up and less sticking of the batter.  I truly hope you enjoy your waffle making days.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

