Green Tea and Apple Punch

My garden outside my kitchen window is growing leaps and bounds. The summer time is fast approaching; the time to relax and lazily sip on sweet tea while sitting out on the patio. When I first married Tony, I thought sweet tea would be easy. I knew how to make tea; therefore, I figured sweetening it and chilling it would be easy. Wow, I was sort of wrong. After about 3 batches of awful sweet tea, I finally make a batch Tony enjoyed for about 1 day. He can drink fluids fast!!! My friends told me that their mothers would make a batch of sweet tea every day!!!! I know that the ice tea makers do make fabulous sweet tea, but buying one has been put on the back burner for things more awesome: lemon zester, food processor, etc. One day I will get an ice tea maker, and my husband will be a happy man.

Sweet tea is not limited to the traditional Southern tea. I have made several refreshing tea punches that are fabulous! Here is one of them. The original recipe had simple syrup steeped with mint. I thought honey would be an excellent substitution. And my mint is being extremely slow in showing their little green leaves, so I have not added it to the mix. Including green tea, the drink will help build your antioxidants and increase hydration levels. I hope you enjoy!!!

Green Tea and Apple Punch
Adapted from Giada

2 ½ cup water, boiling and divided
4 green tea bags (I used Lipton Green Tea with Ginseng and Lemon)
4 tablespoons honey or Agave syrup
1 ½ cup apple juice (preferably 100%)
Juice of 1 lemon
1 cup sparkling water, chilled

Steep the green tea bags in 2 cups of boiling water for 6 minutes. Meanwhile, mix the remaining ½ cup boiling water with the honey or Agave syrup. Strain the tea and add to the honey mixture. Allow to cool, about 45 minutes. Add to the apple juice and lemon juice. Chill. When serving, add the sparkling water, and serve over ice.

Makes 5 cups.

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Tea and Apple Punch

  1. I like the touch of green tea there, it makes it sounds really healthy. I’ve heard that these green tea stuff really works wonders, lol! I really love the punch recipe. Would it be a crime to add something to spike it up then?

  2. Pingback: Pickles and Ice Cream « Ganache

Leave a Reply

