Ratatouille

Dear Friends,

At the beginning of summer and last summer, I set a goal for myself to make Ratatouille while watching the Disney movie Ratatouille. I finally accomplished this goal. When I planted my garden, I planted the vegetables to have an abundance of Ratatouille opportunities available to myself. For whatever reason, this did not occur. Ants, bugs, funguses all made themselves home to my small garden. This made me very sad, but being my first garden attempt, my gardening ambitions are still intact. Do not despair! One of the greatest advantages to my home is a farmers’ market right around the corner! Friday I visited it for the soul purpose of purchasing my vegetables for my ratatouille. On a previous weekend, I had researched various recipes for the ratatouille of my dreams. Several friends sent me a link to the official Ratatouille ratatouille. (Side note ME: rat and patoote! 😉 I also found a link to Smitten Kitchen’s version she created after watching the movie. True to my word, though, I made the official version that is named Confit Byaldi. While I was making the recipe, I realized my cooking time was cutting into my viewing time. So I rigged up my laptop and pushed play. It was lovely! I enjoyed watching little Remy talk to his imaginary chef about cooking and what it means to be a cook. Some movies are just little rays of sunlight! This is one of mine. After cooking and tasting (I have decided my dream job is a cookbook editor, I would be phenomenal!), I revised the recipe to my own Ratatouille!

Ratatouille
Revised from Confit Byaldi
For the sauce:
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
½ cup finely diced yellow onion (small onion)
14 ounce can of diced or crushed tomatoes
1 sprig thyme
1 sprig of flat leaf parsley
½ bay leaf
1 jar of roasted red peppers, drained and finely chopped
Salt

Vegetables:
1 Zucchini
1 Japanese eggplant
1 yellow squash
4 Roma tomatoes
1/2 clove minced garlic
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/8 teaspoon thyme leaves
Salt and pepper

For Vinaigrette:
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Herb de Provence
Salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

For the sauce: Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion, and cook until very soft but not brown, about 8 minutes. Add the tomatoes with the juices, thyme, parsley, and bay leaf. Simmer over low heat until little juices remain about 10 minutes. Add the peppers and simmer to heart. Season to taste with salt; discard herbs. Reserve a tablespoon of the sauce for the vinaigrette. Spread the sauce on the bottom of an oiled casserole dish.

For the vegetables: Slice each vegetable about 1/6th of an inch using a mandolin or knife. Arrange the vegetables over the sauce down the center of the casserole dish overlapping each vegetable about 1/4th inch, alternating eggplant, squash, zucchini, and tomato. Then spiral the vegetables around the dish beginning close to the center “aisle” until the dish is completely filled. Mix the garlic, olive oil, and thyme leaves together with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle over the vegetables. Cover the pan with foil. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour until the vegetables are soft. Uncover and bake for additional 5-10 minutes to brown. Serve topped with the vinaigrette.

Serves 4.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ratatouille

  1. Pingback: Playing Favorites « Ganache

  2. Pingback: Ratatouille | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

