Pesto Tomato Sandwiches

With all the wonderful summer produce, I have particularly enjoyed the fresh tomatoes!!! I have eaten my fair share of Panzanella salad and BLTs, but my particular favorite is this little sandwich. It is fabulous, plus I use the pesto I make from the basil from my garden. For some reason, that plant is the only thing that has done well. But I am trying not to complain. As I stated in a previous post, I have a farmer’s market close to my house that I visit frequently. This little sandwich is delicious and simple. We have eaten it with a variety of sides, sometimes just by itself. It truly is a small nugget of happiness!! I hope you enjoy!

Pesto Tomato Sandwich
Adapted from Ina Garten

1 tomato sliced
1/3 cup basil pesto
4 ounces mozzarella cheese, sliced
4 slices of white or wheat bread

Spread the pesto onto each slice of bread. Top with the tomato slices and sprinkle with salt. Top with sliced mozzarella cheese. Place another slice of bread on top with the pesto side facing down. Heat in a Panini press or between a skillet and another heavy bottomed pan. Heat until the cheese is completely melted and the bread is toasted. Cut in half and enjoy.
Serves 2 or one really hungry person.

This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

