Lemon Syrup Lemonade

My dear friends,

I have some sad news.  I do not receive the new cooking channel.  I realize that most of you do, but I am extremely distraught at times when I think of how many wonderful shows I am missing.  I have contacted my service provider to tell them that I would enjoy the channel, but they have not responded.  Oh well.  I longingly visit the website to watch their small collection of videos.  A friend has told me about one of her favorite shows name French Food at Home.  I watched a couple of her videos, and I like her ideas and recipes that I have seen.  She had this wonderful idea of how to make lemonade.  And I loved it!  T has been raving about a restaurant’s famous lemonade, and stated that this would satisfy his cravings for a while.  The only problem is that it does not make a huge batch at a time, just one glass at a time.  I think one could make a  whole pitcher, but at the time, I only had a couple of lemons.  I would suggest one getting an electric juicer.  I bought one for a friend to make Alton Brown’s margaritas and she loves it.  She raves about how wonderful and useful it is.  In the past, I would laugh at people who had one, but now I am so jealous and am going to get one very soon.  🙂  Meanwhile, I will just make this one glass at a time.  Also the simple syrup would be wonderful in tea!

Lemon Syrup Lemonade
Adapted from Laura Calder

Lemon zest is the yellow rind.  It contains lemony essential oils that add a ton of flavor to dishes.  To have tiny bits of lemon zest, grate the lemon against a grater or microplane.  If like this recipe, you need strips, gourmet food stores do sell a utensil call a zester than strips the lemon; however, peeling the yellow rind then cutting into strips with a really sharp knife is easy.  Whatever way you make your zest be careful not to get the white part called the pith.  It is very bitter and does not add flavor.

1 lemon
1 cup of sugar
1 cup of water
Water and ice

Peel the lemon being careful to only get the zest (the yellow part, not the white).  Slice into small slivers.  Combine the lemon zest, sugar, and water in a saucepan.  Heat over medium high, and boil until the sugar has dissolved.  Take off the heat, and cool.  Pour into an airtight container, and store in the fridge.  This is last for weeks.
When you make the lemonade, strain a couple of tablespoons of the simple syrup in the bottom of the glass.  Add the juice of one lemon and ice.  Stir together.  Fill the rest of the glass with water and stir again.  Enjoy on a hot summer’s day!
Makes 1 cup of lemon simple syrup.

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

