Country French Omelet

This past month was the one of the last of a many “Holiday” get together. The in-laws came down to spend some quality time and exchange presents. Because breakfast is one of my most favorite meals of the day (actually brunch is), I cooked them a wonderful breakfast is I do say so myself. I am also in love with my new cookbook!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Ina Gardener’s Back to Basics. Please know the recipes are wonderful and pretty easy. Using the recipes helps me feel gourmet without using too many ingredients that are overly expensive or not already in my pantry. So for breakfast I made bacon, sausage, biscuits, and this country omelet. The omelet was wonderful. It was delicious. I did change some things to fit better in my menu; I swapped out the bacon for cherry tomatoes. The recipe is made in an omelet pan, but since I was making for more than two people, I used my cast iron skillet and doubled the recipe. I hope you whip this up and enjoy with loved ones.

Country French Omelet
Adapted from Barefoot Contessa

1 tablespoon good olive oil
1 cup (i-inch-diced) unpeeled Yukon Gold potatoes (would probably be easier if they were slightly steamed in the microwave, but it is up to you.)
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
5 extra-large eggs
3 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 cup cherry tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon fresh chopped chives
½ cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Heat the olive oil in a 10-inch ovenproof omelet pan over medium heat. Place the potatoes in the pan and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Continue to cook over medium-low heat for 8 to 10 minutes, until very tender and browned, tossing occasionally to brown evenly. Remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.
Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the eggs, milk, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper together with a fork. After the potatoes are removed, pour the fat out of the pan and discard. Add the butter, lower the heat to low, and pour the eggs into the hot pan. Sprinkle the tomatoes, potatoes, and chives evenly over the top and plan the pan in the oven for about 5 minutes. Sprinkle with cheese, and cook for additional 5 minutes, just until set. Slide onto a plate, divide in half, and serve hot.
Serves 2-4.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

