Grits Souffle

Happy late Thanksgiving! Since I worked on Thanksgiving, and turkey was not apart of my celebration meal, we are celebrating the weekend afterwards. I know it is not technically still Thanksgiving; I am still celebrating it in my heart. This coming weekend is like a major thankful, joy holiday. But on the day of thanksgiving, I was most thankful for my recipe book. We had a Thanksgiving breakfast in bed consisting of sweet potato hash-browns, scrambled eggs with cheese, sausage, and my grandmother’s Grits soufflé. The recipe card is in her handwriting, and this makes me very happy. She is no longer with us on this earth, but I love that I have a small part of her with me during the holiday season. Because she wrote the recipe a while back, the directions include “oleo” which was a brand name for margarine. Really old recipes might have this in their ingredients; do not fear. Just use butter or margarine; the result will be the same. I did add a special ingredient a friend of mine adds in her cheese grits. I hope you enjoy. We do every holiday meal.

Grits Soufflé
By Adda Atkins

3/4 cup quick cooking grits
3 cups water
1 teaspoon salt
½ pound Velveeta
5 drops of Tabasco sauce
1/2 stick of oleo (butter)
2 eggs, well beaten
1 tablespoon chopped Jalapeños

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a casserole dish with cooking spray. Make the grits in the water according to package directions. Cube the Velveeta, and stir in the grits until melted. Mix the rest of the ingredients. Bake for 40 minutes.

Serves 8.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

