Tea for Two

A friend came over today for tea.  We enjoyed each other’s company, ate delicious food, and talked.  The time was soul warming.  Here is the menu of my tea for two.

Tea for Two

Cucumber Sandwiches

Scones

with Lemon Curd

Fruit Salad

Pound Cake

I served Paris tea by Harney and Sons.  This lovely tea is light and crisp with hints of orange.  It pairs well with the cucumber and lemon.  Everything can be prepared in advance.  The scones, which I made yesterday, were frozen, then toasted in a 400 degree oven for about 5-10 minutes.  This gives them a fresh taste.  The lemon curd, I made in about 15 minutes, and can be put on just about anything.  When I served the pound cake, I slathered on the tangy lemon curd, then plopped on a couple of berries.  My friend graciously brought these beautiful berries, which were a delightful addition.  Old Country Rose is my tea china which I started in London and have been adding on to it through gifts and purchases.

As I said yesterday, the greatest thing about having tea is the friendships that are made.  Having tea with someone says I am going to take time out of my day to share life with you.  I do warn you though, hosting a tea can seem overwhelming.   It overwhelmed me today.  With my good friend came over this afternoon, I had an elaborate menu planned out.  So many recipes I wanted to try, but I ran out of time.  And just before she walked in the door, I was nervous that everything would not be standard.  Then when she walked in with a huge smile on her face, I knew it did not matter.  What mattered was our time together, even if everything was not perfect.  And everything did turn out wonderful without me being extremely stressed.  So please, do not let the idea of having tea become a fancy, can never do, occasion.  Share your life with someone over a cup of tea; you will not regret it.

This entry was posted in Tea Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tea for Two

  1. Hannah says:

    What type of scones did you make? You should do a scone post during your marathon. I still have trouble picking out which scones were the ones I liked after we did that scone tasting a couple of years ago. 🙂

    • teawithsb says:

      I made the scones from the previous post (favorite things). If you or anyone else for that matter, have specific scone requests I can try to have or find a recipe.

  2. MANDI says:

    Sarabeth, I am just now looking at your blog. I remember why I love you… 😉 I’m so impressed. You are so talented- you’ll write a book one day, own an Inn, and possibly do some photography on the side. Love everything… I especially love your last paragraph in your tea for two…

Leave a Reply

