Lemon Curd


Scones are one of the most traditional tea offerings in afternoon tea. Almost as traditional is lemon curd. Usually it is served along side the scones with some whipped cream or clotted cream. Because of its versatility, I highly suggest you make this recipe and keep it in your refrigerator. The recipe is very simple, and not only is delicious on toast and scones, but can be used for a tart filling, a trifle filling, an ice cream topping, or a lemony sauce for berries. My mother always made it for her teas, and I would always admire her for having such an elegant and beautiful sauce on her table. Now I can see why she made it so often. The rewards far outweigh any labor you may put into it. The color is a gorgeous bright yellow, and it is absolutely beautiful in a glass dish on a table.

Today I drank Cappuccino rooibos by Tea Embassy with my breakfast. I needed the coffee flavoring without any of the caffeine, due to my sleep schedule for today. During my breakfast, I watched Downton Abbey, a new Masterpiece classic. The series is four parts, and I already cannot wait to watch the rest of it. So when I have a moment, I shall sip on my rooibos and have a slice of pound cake with my lemon curd.


Lemon Curd

2 lemons, peeled (yellow part only) and juice
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
4 tablespoons butter

Add the sugar and lemon peel together in a food processor. Pulse until everything is the same size. Add the juice and eggs. It will look a bit odd after this step, but do not worry. In a medium sauce pan on low, slowly heat the mixture. Add the butter and stir. Then continue to heat until the mixture has thickened, about 10-15 minutes.

Makes about 1 ½ cup.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Food, Tea Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Curd

  1. brieana says:

    This sounds delicious! If you like fruity desserts, check out my smoothie recipes if you have a second, they are sweet and healthy for you too! http://rundesignfab.wordpress.com/

  2. Hannah says:

    Have you tried the Teavana coffee-like tea? I was wonderful if you liked it. It’s a Mate tea, so it has some stimulant in it. I wonder if that would mess with your sleeping schedule?

    http://www.teavana.com/The-Teas/Mate-Teas/JavaVana-Mate-Tea.axd

  3. Pingback: Trifle | Tea with SB

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along 15 | Tea with SB

  5. Carrie Myhre says:

    I’m going to try to make the lemon curd!

Leave a Reply

