Fig and Honey Scones

During my trip to visit my mom, she gave me a whole armful of tea magazines to use as research.  I, of course,  started with the Tea Time magazines, which contain the most recipes.  During my reading, I came across this recipe and thought is sounded like lovely combination. Very winter-y and cozy. However, as I put together the scones, I noticed it contained no butter.  I do not know if this was intentional, but I decided to trust the recipe.  The result was pretty good, though butter would have added a bit of flakiness that we all love with scones. It tastes like a bread-y fig newton.  I love fig newtons!  🙂 I am drinking Lemon Chamomile tonight to help me sleep.  Here is my updated version:

Fig and Honey Scones
Adapted from Tea Time Magazine

1 1/2 cup sifted all-purpose four
1 cup wheat flour (optional, you can use only all-purpose flour)
3 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled
2/3 – 1 cup dried figs, chopped finely
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)
2 1/2 tablespoons honey
4-6 tablespoons half and half

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Combine the flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl.  Cut in the butter until the flour is crumbly.  Toss in the dried figs and walnuts.  In a separate bowl, mix together the honey and 3 tablespoons of the half and half; add to the flour mixture.  Add additional cream if the dough does not come together (remember the dough is just supposed to start to form, but be in one big lump.)  On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough 7 times.  Then roll out to 1/2 inch thickness.  Then cut out 12 scones.  I made two circles and cut each circle into 6 wedges.  Brush the tops with extra cream.  Bake for 12-15 minutes until lightly browned.  Let them cool slightly.

Makes 12 scones.


This entry was posted in Breads, Food, Tea Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

