Chocolate Chip Scones

Everyone loves chocolate chip cookies.  As children, my siblings and I loved chocolate chip pancakes.  It was like having dessert for breakfast!!!  Even now, IHOP has beautiful chocolate chip pancakes with whipped cream served to anyone who’s sweet tooth will not wait for the afternoon.  Why not make a chocolate chip scone?  Valentine’s day is coming up, and chocolate will be celebrated almost as much as love.  I LOVE chocolate!!!  Dark, milk, and white in all of their various forms.  So to have tiny tidbits of chocolate throughout my tea-bread is a delight.  Though I am sure any tea would be lovely with chocolate, my favorite is a straight black tea.  Many tea companies are selling chocolate tea!  My Morning Mate from Teavana, I purchased recently, has cocoa nibs that blend well with the morning cuppa.  If you were to serve this as apart of an afternoon tea, I would serve it strictly with whipped cream, and possibly strawberry jam (in honor of chocolate covered strawberries).  A little while ago I drank some Earl Grey with these scones.  The orange flavoring complimented the chocolate well; but of course, it is Ina’s favorite combination!!  🙂  I hope you enjoy these with some strong black tea when chocolate is calling your name!

Chocolate Chip Scones

1 cup flour
2 teaspoons-2 tablespoons sugar (depending on how sweet your chocolate chips are)
1 ½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons butter
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 egg
¼ cup half and half
1 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together.  Cut in the butter with two forks or a pastry blender until the mixture is crumbly.  Add the chocolate chips.  Beat together the egg, half and half, and vanilla.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix until just formed.  On a lightly floured board, knead the dough seven times.  Then roll out to ½ inch thickness and cut into desired shapes (I used circles).  Bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes until lightly browned.
Makes 8-9 scones.


This entry was posted in Breads, Food, Tea Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. MANDI says:

    My husband has the idea in his head he doesn’t like scones. Is this common for men?

    • teawithsb says:

      has he ever tried one? The majority of scones are dry and are better eaten with jam or lemon curd. My mom likes her scones more moist. I’ll post her favorite recipe on here soon, and you can see if he likes those. I do think it depends on what you put in them. All scones are different and can have favorite things added to everyone’s particular taste.

Leave a Reply

