Blueberry Scones

I love blueberries.  Not only are they delicious, but they are also tiny pockets of antioxidants waiting to add to your health.  They remind me of the west coast, cool temperatures in the summer, and salty air.  My mother’s family reunions were held on the Oregon coast, and we would always plan them during the hottest parts of the Southern summer which is also berry season in Oregon.  My mom would fly (when airlines did not charge for each bag) with an extra piece of luggage, just to bring back the frozen berries and jams we had accumulated throughout our stay.  One visit we (5-6 cousins) picked 30 pounds of blueberries on the farm.  We ate every last one of them.  I do not know if the time has tarnished my memory of those huge berries, but the berries in the last couple of years have reminded me of their size and flavor.


When I developed this recipe, I wanted the texture to be more like cake and less like a biscuit.  Something about blueberries feel right in muffins, cakes, and cobblers, with a sweet crusty top.  When I made the recipe, the day was sunny and clear.  I am starting to learn that humidity has a lot to do with baking.  This is the reason for the cream ratios.  My dough was a bit too wet, making the dough difficult to knead, and therefore tougher.  Depending on the weather, will depend on the amount of cream added to the dough.  I hope you are able to  enjoy these with a big mug of English breakfast and a cozy blanket early in the morning, and if you are lucky, viewing a grand, vast ocean.

Blueberry Scones

1 cup flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons butter, chilled and cut into 1-inch cubes
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ cup blueberries
1 egg
2 tablespoons -1/3 cup cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
Sanding sugar (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl.  Cut in the butter until the flour is crumbly, and the butter is the size of peas.  Toss in the blueberries.  In a separate bowl mix together the egg, 2 tablespoons of cream, and the vanilla.  Add to the mixture.  Add more cream in to the dough until it reaches the desired consistency.  (I used about 3 tablespoons.)  On a lightly floured board, knead the dough only 7 times.  The pat down to 1 inch thickness and cut into 6-8 scones.  If desired, sprinkle with sanding sugar.  Bake for 12-15 minutes.
Yields 6-8 scones.


This entry was posted in Breads, Food, Tea Marathon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Scones

  1. elaine Atkins says:

    Wow, these look fabulous! Hope I can create that same atmosphere as it brings back so many special memories!!!

  2. cmyhre says:

    Ahh…. I miss you guys and our time at the Oregon coast together! Thanks for sharing these great recipes! I’m having a tea party this weekend and will be using some of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

