Cheese Scones

Dear Friends,

I just put down the Tea House Times, a bi-monthly newsletter sharing stories and articles surrounding the Victoria era. Several thoughts occurred to me. It reminded me of the newspapers in Little Women. The ones that Jo, Amy, Beth, and Meg would submit “articles” and Jo would piece together a huge newspaper. They would sit together in a circle and read their articles aloud. It was one of their main entertainments, and Jo would always have a love story or part of a play she would “publish”. How very intriguing I thought. In a day and age of technology, how lovely would it be to receive a newsletter containing articles your friends and family submitted. Varying topics of course, but all filled with love and knowledge of their favorite things. And the print would not be too much with Kinko’s at every corner. An idea is bouncing around in my head. Give it time, it may come to something. The second thought concerned the subscription price. I let you look it up, but it was, in my humble and unexperienced opinion, very high. Six times a year is not very much, and as I said Kinko’s is just around the corner. But what do I know.

Today I am having a tea tasting with friends. I am very excited!! One of the friends is making cheese scones, her absolute favorite kind of scone. I have not featured savory scones in this marathon yet, and I am pleased to say I greatly enjoy them. As apart of a bridal shower menu, I split them in half and spread homemade pesto with sliced tomatoes on top. Very yummy!! Everyone loved them. I hope you do as well! I’m off to taste tea!

Cheese Scones
Courtesy of Lisa Rucker

2 Cups of flour
1tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp of mustard powder
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 Cup soften butter (i like to use 1/4 butter + 1/4 shortening)
1/2 Cup of milk + 1 Tb for brushing
1/2 Cup shredded Cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix dry goods, cut in butter until consistency of breadcrumbs. Make well in
the middle add milk and cheese. Knead gently and roll out to 1 inch thick. Cut into triangles. Place on ungreased baking sheet in a pie pattern. Brush with milk and bake for 15 minutes.
Note: the mustard powder really does make it cheesier. I also like to add about 1/4-1/2 tsp of red pepper. Sometimes I add a 1/4 of Parmesan. The powdered kind. Its really good.

This entry was posted in Breads, Tea Marathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

