Red Velvet Scones

In my childhood, I do not remember ever tasting a Red Velvet Cake. When it was described to me, the oddness of the ingredients shied me away from the experience. Then Starbucks had a red velvet cupcake in their pastry display, and if Starbucks had it, well, the cake could not be that bad. And I tasted it. Of course, like the majority of cupcakes I taste, it was dry :(, but I could tell the red crumb and white puffs and I would have a relationship for years to come. The uniqueness of the red velvet cake is the color and the mild chocolate taste. The chocolate is not to be a bold taste, but one that lingers and slow entices your taste buds. The ingredients list includes buttermilk which allows the cake to be extremely moist. During this cake making, the cake was so moist, the crumb stuck to my fingers after cooling from the oven. (That was possible a bit too much or a little under-cooked.) I do not know if the cake’s appeal is the little chocolate flavor, or the brilliant color contrast of the ruby interior and the stark white crown it wears (normally cream cheese frosting). A friend adores this cake and searches for its presence anywhere.  When I saw that Tea Time Magazine featured Red Velvet Scones, I had to test the for her. And they did not disappoint. When I mixed the scones together, repairmen where in my kitchen. I literally was huddled over my oven, using the cook-top as a counter, measuring and kneading the dough into their little triangles of joy. Of course several things resulted in my small amount elbow room. I got red food coloring on three of my dry ingredient canisters (oops), and I got several of the measurements wrong in the scone (double oops). Also T came in the kitchen afterwards and teased me that I was upsetting the workmen by cooking something wonderful and not offering them any. again oops. The dough is a bit sticky, so beware; you could almost just make drop scones. Also the cream cheese butter really would be pretty as hearts, but alas, I do not have a tiny heart-shaped cookie cutter. Please make these, especially during the Love month. They are, as my friend says, “a decadent treat”.

Red Velvet Scones
Courtesy of Tea Time Magazine

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened natural cocoa powder
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons red food coloring
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Cut in the butter using a pastry blender until the mixture is crumbly. Set aside. In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg, food coloring, and vanilla extract. Add this to the flour mixture and stir just until combined. On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough seven times. Roll or pat out to ½ inch thickness. Cut out scones with desired cookie cutter, or slice into wedges. Bake for 14-15 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheet. Makes 12-16 scone.

Creamy Butter Hearts

6 ounces cream cheese
1/2 cup softened butter
2-4 tablespoons powdered sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla

Cream the cream cheese and butter together. Sift in the powdered sugar, and stir. Stir in the vanilla. To make heart shaped butter pats: Spread the mixture on to parchment paper. Chill for 2 hours. For heart shaped “butter”, cut with a 1 ½ inch heart shaped cookie cutter.  If you do not have a heart shaped cookie cutter: place the butter in a sheet of plastic wrap.  Roll into a tube, and chill for 2 hours.  Slice into pats.

Makes 2 dozen butter pats.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

