The Perfect Blend

From the back of the book:

Steph Vandergrift is in desperate need of a hug.  She abruptly left everything – her parents, her job, her apartment, her hometown of Baltimore – to elope with Middleburg attorney Rick Manfred, never imagining he would stand her up at the altar.  Now, all along in a strange town and hoping just to get by until she can decide what to do next, Steph thinks she’s found the perfect position at Millicent’s Tea Shop.  Milly offers Steph the job along with a warm pot of tea, scones, and a listening ear.

Kendall James, on of the kindest and most eligible bachelors in the area, met Steph at the tea shop and proceeds to pursue her.  But by the time she feels able to consider dating again, her runaway fiance returns and tries to win her back. Steph is understandable wary, but she and Rick always seemed to blend so well.  Are they truly meant to be together, or does God have something else in mind?

Review:

“Romance novels are birthday cake and life is often peanut butter and jelly. I think everyone should have lots of delicious romance novels lying around for those times when the peanut butter of life gets stuck to the roof of your mouth.”
— Janet Evanovich

To rephrase this “Romance novels are like tea cake and life is often like biscuits.  I think everyone should have lots of delicious romance novels lying around for those times when the biscuit of life gets stuck to the roof of your mouth.”

This book was definitely tea cake! My mood had taken an unhappy turn, so I opened this book and read while drinking a cup of tea.  Throughout the day, I read the book and drank tea. Of course my mood improved within an hour or two, and then I was hooked in the story.  Like most romance novels, the characters are not very complex, but I enjoyed the book and the message all the same.  It made me laugh and have fun.  I would love to visit Millicent’s Tea shop and have a cup of tea.  I am excited that Trish Perry is writing another Tea with Millicent book!  For anyone who loves tea, this book is a must!  I am so excited to try the recipes in the back as well.  In reading the book, I learned that cream cheese added to cucumber sandwiches is the Americanized version of a cucumber sandwich.  The traditional cucumber sandwich is made with only butter.  Millicent (owner of the tea shop) provides both in her teashop, a true gracious host.  I just wish I could sit at her table for a while.

 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Perfect Blend

  1. Dear Sarabeth–my you are an awesome writer–I’m on spring break and am trying to unload my inbox, and found your tea blog that Carrie sent me while I was in Phoenix giving her some basic ideas about cooking–your name came up several times ( my awesome “barefoot contessa” granddaughter who is a gourmet cook). We had a good time cooking and touring for several days–my it was nice and warm down there–I left Billings with 0 degrees and 4 inches of snow to arrive Phoenix in 73 degree weather. It so reminded me of our time of cooking together at my house.
    I enjoyed your blog and keep up the good work! Love, Grandma Marilyn

Leave a Reply

