The Beauty of Making Tea

With all the saddening world events and at times the sad events going on in our own lives, tea making is something that gets quite forgotten.  We get busy worrying about life and decisions and grab a quick cup of coffee or ice tea at the store.  (This does have its own pleasures, but more on that later.)  I have not made tea in about two weeks.  How sad?!  Especially since my blog is named Tea with SB!  However, this morning I woke up and knew it was time for me to make tea again.  To impart in the ritual that gives me such pleasure once again.  To be honest, I do not know if I just got lazy, busy, or just needed a break.  Who knows?  My hot beverages have not completely ceased.  I bought some wonderful freshly roasted coffee from the local market and drank it that morning.  But tea has been that friend; quietly waiting in the background, for when I would actually make time to be apart of its beautiful drink.

It truly is a beautiful ritual, though not quite as beautiful as the Japanese.  This beauty I tried to capture on camera.  My selected tea is Cappuccino Rooibos.  It is a perfect tea for this morning because I craved something breakfast-y but without any caffeine (have to work tonight).  The tea is beautiful, as most whole leave teas are.  Capturing the process helps me to appreciate it more.  The quiet moments while the water is boiling or the tea is steeping gave me calm.  Then drinking the first cup completely focused on the taste of the tea, the smell of its scent, and the weight of the smooth teacup in my hand brought me back to all the reasons I love tea.

With fresh water in your teakettle (hot pot, etc), boil.

While the water is boiling, pour hot water into your teapot, either from the teakettle or from the tap.  This is to heat your teapot.

After the teapot is warm, add your tea leaves.  Usually whole tea is 1 teaspoon per cup; however, if you like stronger tea, add about ½ more.  If there are any specific instructions on your tea package, follow those. When the water is boiling, take it off the burner.  Pour the water over the tea leaves or bag at the proper time. Here is the advice I received:

  • For 205 degrees: ideal for black, rooibos, herbal, and mate teas, allow the hot-pot to boil.
  • For 195 degrees: ideal for Pu-reh teas, allow the hot-pot to boil, then leave it alone for one minute.  Then pour the water into the pot.
  • For 175 degrees, ideal for green and white teas, leave boiled water alone for about 3 minutes.

Steep your tea for the specified time. (Rooibos: 5 minutes)

Remove the tea leaves or bag from your cup.

Pour into your desired vessel.

Drink to your heart’s content.


This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

