Apple Cheddar Scones

The weather is beautiful outside.  This past weekend I cleaned up our little patio  and patio furniture.  I love our patio furniture because it is easy to clean by just spray washing and wiping them down with a towel.  Then they dry in what seemed like mere minutes.  This spring I want to plant flowers, and I bought some Gerber daisies to have next to my furniture.  Hopefully this week, I will be able to plant my garden and a few more flowers.  I also bought some summer dishes.  They were pretty inexpensive at Walmart (not the highest quality, but they are cute!)  And now I can have a few more layouts for my pictures! 😉


These scones were inspired by several things.  The show Pushing Daisies introduced me to the idea of cheddar cheese and apples in baked goods.  I had it in fondue but never pies or muffins.  Also an inspiration is Alice’s Tea Cup cookbook.  I started reading about their scones, and their love for tea parties and everything yummy and glittery refreshed my love for the same.  And of course my base recipe is from Ina Garten.  I cannot beat her recipe for scones, with a few additions and variations of my own.
When I serve these scones, I just think of a pie; therefore, I serve the nutty St. Nick’s Surprise herbal tea.  Add a plain black tea to the “leaves” just before brewing.
I hope you enjoy these scones or something else yummy in the beautiful sunny weather of spring!!

Apple Cheddar Scones

1 cup flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 ½ teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons butter (2.5 ounces), chilled
1 apple, shredded
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese plus 1 tablespoon, divided
1 egg, lightly beaten
2-3 tablespoons buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt together.  Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until about the size of small peas.  Add the apples and cheddar cheese, and toss into the ingredients.  In a separate bowl, mix together the egg and 2 tablespoons buttermilk.  Make a well of the “dry” ingredients and add the wet ingredients.  Mix gently with a fork.  If your dough is too dry, add the extra tablespoon buttermilk.  Turn out onto a flat, floured surface and knead gently a couple of times.  Pat into a circle about 1 inch thick.  Cut into wedges and transfer onto a greased sheet pan.  Sprinkle with the 1 tablespoon of cheddar cheese.  Bake in the 400 degree oven for 12-14 minutes until the scones are lightly browned.  Allow to cool on the pan for 5 minutes before serving.

Makes 6-8 scones.

Tea suggestion: St. Nick’s Surprise from Tiesta Tea


This entry was posted in Breads, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

