Alice’s Vanilla Tea-Infused Granola

The other day I shared with you my new love for yogurt!!! I have been eating yogurt nonstop for a while now, and have missed granola for the topping! My mom has a lovely granola recipe, but it has quite a few ingredients and makes a ton!!! I have found this new cookbook that is AMAZING!!! That has a tea granola!! Plus many other tea recipes (with tea!) I thought I would try it. I made another recipe from Alice’s Tea Cup cookbook that was phenomenal!!! Honestly you will probably see many more recipes from this book. I really wish I could go visit the tea room!!! The owners seem like such wonderful fun people!! They like glitter and tea. How bad can they truly be?
This recipe called for several ingredients I did not have, so I played clean out the pantry. 🙂 Everything with * a variation. It did contain nuts and dried fruit, but I did not have the particular nuts or fruit they called for. Take it and make it your own, I say. But I love that they use tea as a spice. I used Sweet Jane from Bingely’s Teas Ltd. because it has a vanilla base. On their website, Alice’s Tea Cup does sell all the teas they use in their recipes. I will have to check it out!!!

Alice’s Vanilla Tea-Infused Granola
Adapted from Alice’s Tea Cup Cookbook

2 ½ cup rolled oats
½ cup chopped peanuts*
½ cup chopped hazelnuts*
½ cup sunflower seeds*
¾ cup shredded coconut
1 heaping tablespoon Vanilla tea leaves, finely ground in a coffee or spice grinder
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
½ cup chopped apricots
½ cup chopped crystallized ginger*
½ cup raisins*
1/3 cup honey, plus more for drizzling
½ stick (1/4 cup) unsalted butter

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a large baking sheet with cooking spray. In a large bowl, combine the all of the ingredients except the honey and butter. Stir until well combined. In a small saucepan over medium low heat, melt the butter. Add the honey, and gently stir to combine. Add to the large bowl with the granola. Spread the granola out onto the baking sheet and pack it down with a spatula. Bake for 10 minutes until the granola is golden on top. Remove the sheet pan from the oven, and using a large spatula, flip the granola over. Pack it down with the spatula again, and drizzle honey on top. Bake for another 8-10 minutes. Set the granola aside to cool completely. (Oops! I missed this step. This is probably why my granola is not in larger pieces.) When cool, break the cooked granola in chunks. Quoting from the book, “Store in an airtight container in a cool, dry place so that the granola doesn’t get soggy and make you sad…”
(Hehe) Serve with milk or yogurt.

Makes about 7 cups or 14 servings.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

