Milk Chocolate Buttercream

My dear friends, 

Hopefully my absence has come to an end.  Life has been a bit hectic and major changes are happening.  These have prevented my sharing my creations.  I am truly sorry.  Though I have been away, I am still cooking and tweaking recipes, even some on this blog.  This is how you know a recipe is a keeper, you make it countless times and still want to make it again!!!  I do not know how people keep up with their recipes close to their heart.  I forget mine sometimes, only to remember it later and create it with more vigor than before.  Some of the recipes I have been cooking?  Sole Meuniere, Browned Buttered Asparagus, Sunshine Cake (made as cupcakes), Chicken Tamale Casserole, Roasted Veggies, and tons more.  

Along with the Sunshine Cake, I made chocolate cupcakes.  They were quite tasty!!!  Someone at work has been sharing her Cupcake cookbooks with me, and I have been inspired!!!  One I even ordered for myself, and it arrived today!!!  You might be seeing more cupcakes on this blog in the near future.  The chocolate cupcakes are not like this recipe, but are similar.  I toke what I knew about buttercream frosting and made a milk chocolate buttercream.  The result, a new lover of buttercream!!!  The hubby had been asking about heating the cupcake up to put ice cream on top.  (We love warm chocolate in this house.)  I told him it would be ok, but the frosting would melt completely.  Then as I finished frosting the cupcakes, he sneaked a bite and exclaimed that the cupcake was awesome the way it was.  He now loves buttercream!  And what’s not to love!!  

Guidelines of buttercream: 
Room temperature butter
Keep the icing at room temperature
And always have more! 😉

 

Milk Chocolate Buttercream

With this frosting, I just whipped up a box cake mix.  Chocolate Fudge.  I did however, bake the cupcakes around five minutes less than the box stated which helped them not dry out.  The cupcakes were perfectly done and moist.  So please, if and when you are making a cake, particularly a chocolate cake, set the timer for about 5 minutes less than stated time and check every 2-3 minutes afterwards.  

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, room temperature
1 cup confectioner’s sugar, sifted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4-1/3 cup whipping cream
4 ounces of milk chocolate

Place the chocolate in a heat proof bowl and melt according to the package directions (either in the microwave or in a double boiler).  Set aside to cool.  Beat the butter until light and fluffy.  Gradually add in the confectioner’s sugar, whipping with every addition until no more clumps are seen.  Slowly add in 1/4 cup whipping cream.  Beat for about a minute to make the frosting fluffy.  If it looks too dry, then add a bit more whipping cream.  Then fold in the melted chocolate with a spatula.  Eat with a spoon or top on your favorite cupcake!

Covers 12 cupcakes.

P.S.  These cupcakes were so good, they were gone before I was able to snap a picture.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Milk Chocolate Buttercream

  1. Mary Elizabeth says:

    I like cupcakes.
    I like you.

    It’s been a long time since I’ve had/seen the above things. 🙂 maybe this week we could make cupcakes?

Leave a Reply

