Ratatouille 2

Ah summer is here. The farmers markets are filling up with all it’s beautiful veggies! I did not even know that there was a purple broccoli! [according to the patron it turns green after it cooks 😦 ] With all of these beautiful vegetables and fruits, I am determined to eat more throughout the summer and feel lovely! Already the peaches are delicious with homemade yogurt as apart of my breakfast! Blackberries have started to appear as well. (sad though that the strawberries are not as abundant.). If any of you know of an app that has what is in season week to week and region to region, please pass it on. It would be helpful to have know that I needed to make more strawberry jam a month ago. Oh well.
Nevertheless I am very excited about summer this year. Hopefully the heat will stay mild and the bugs will be less plentiful. I hope to have at least one cookout, even if the heat is unbearable. So with summer being on my mind, I wanted to cook a summery dish to get me even more in the mood. Last summer I made this dish, but I have to say it was a bit labor intensive! This recipe is not at all, though I want to also try this recipe before the summer is though. As promised by the website, the dish does have a delicious sauce and hardly any fat at all! The vegetables have a slight peppery taste to them. Maybe it’s from the pepper I put in the dish, or maybe not. The recipe makes a ton so I have been experimenting with how to serve it. The suggestions are plain with a dollop of goat cheese on top, with a fried egg, in an omelet, or on top of a veggie pizza. I have tried a couple and am thinking of doing the pizza one night this week. I do love it though. And next time I make it I do think I will include yellow squash and red pepper but this recipe is just the basics. Enjoy!

Ratatouille
Adapted from Mireille Guiliano

1 pound of eggplant
1 pound zucchini
1.5 pounds tomatoes
4 cloves of garlic
Salt and pepper
Sprigs of parsley (though i will be using basil next time)
1/2 cup crushed tomatoes

Slice the eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes in equally thick slices. Spray the bottom of a large pan with cooking spray. Layer the vegetables. In between set of layers, salt and pepper and sprinkle with chopped garlic and parsley.  When the pot is either full or you run out of vegetables, pour the crushed tomatoes on top. Cover and cook over low heat for 1.5 – 2.5 hours or until all the vegetables are all fork tender. Serve 20 minutes afterwards. (or cool and randomly eat your vegetables for meals)
Makes 6 servings.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

