Panko Fish

I recently acquired some bass freshly caught. I was so excited; however, being that my dad did not fish that much, I did not know quite how to fix it. I talked to the fisherman who caught it his opinion of who to cook the fish. I toke him “recipe” and morphed it into what is below. Just before I cooked the fish, I was watching The Next Food Network Star. Though the drama of it all can be overwhelming, I do enjoy watching the contestants be challenged in their cooking skills. Same goes for Chopped and Iron Chef America. When chefs come up with various recipes “off the top of their head” it inspires me to produce my own recipes and add some flair to old favorites. The fish is gently sauteed in butter and olive oil, then sprinkled with a panko and lemon mixture. The broiled in the oven for a quick 5 minutes. If you do not own a microplane lemon zester, please please please spend the $15 to get yourself one. My friend kept telling me it was amazing and that I would love it. She was right! It is AWESOME!!! I use it for Parmesan cheese, and lemon and lime zest. And it is so smooth!! I cannot keep it clean due to me using it almost every day. If you ever think about grating Parmesan cheese or using lemon zest, this tool is something that you need! P.S. I have been cooking for myself a lot lately. Most of my recipes are easily double for 2-4 people.

20110612-071834.jpg

Panko Fish

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
¼ cup panko breadcrumbs
1 lemon, zested with juice reserved
2 teaspoons Parmesan cheese, grated
2 sprigs of thyme, chopped (I used lemon thyme from my garden.)
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
2 fish fillets

In an oven-proof skillet, heat the butter and olive over medium-high heat. Dry the fish fillets and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place in the pan and cook on each side for about 3 minutes, depending on the thickness of your fish. While the fish is cooking, combine the breadcrumbs, lemon zest, Parmesan cheese, thyme, salt and pepper in a bowl. Remove from heat. Squeeze the lemon juice on top of the fish. Sprinkle the breadcrumb mixture on top of the fish fillets. Place under the broiler for 1-2 minutes (watch it!!!) until the breadcrumbs are lightly browned. Remove from the oven, and serve with the pan drippings.

Serves 1-2.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

