Tequila Chicken

20110626-102454.jpg

My grill set up!

I love chicken thighs. I know they aren’t the most healthy of the chicken body but their dark meat can with stand almost any kitchen mistake. Except undercooking of course. That’s probably why I like to grill with them. Now I am not a grill master by any means but I do like to use our Weber occasionally. The first recipe I used were these. Watching Ina grill gave me confidence, and she explained how to use a chimney and how to work with coals. The only draw back is that I am taking the tongs away from the man of the family. Maybe when we are in cooler climate, we will grill together. Does Weber make a pink grill? Cause that would be awesome.

Newho. Today is Father’s day, and when I woke up thus afternoon, I could smell all of the neighborhood grills going. I just wanted to sit out and watch the sunset while grilling out myself. I know the sweat and bugs can make it unbearable, but sometime the smell of bug spray mixed with charcoal on your skin is quintessential summer! It’s one of those trigger smell that makes us want to lay out. 😉 I am enjoying myself, even though I am alone. Jack jack is keeping me company as well as texting friends! And pandora is the soundtrack. So wonderful!


20110626-102506.jpg

Tequila Chicken
Slightly Adapted from Cooking Light
I did not have pineapple juice, so I used what I had, cran-apple juice. The result is wonderful! You could you either.

3/4 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2-3 chicken thighs (bone-in, and skinned or not skinned)
1/3 cup Cran-apple juice
2 1/2 tablespoons tequila
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon water
1 teaspoon lime zest
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 teaspoon red pepper

Combine the first four ingredients in a small bowl. Rub evenly over the thighs. Set aside. In a small sauce pan, heat the juice, tequila, and honey to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce to half (about 10 minutes). In another small bowl, combine the cornstarch and water. Stir into the juice, stirring constantly and boil for one minute. Remove from heat. Stir in the lime zest, lime juice, and red pepper.
Heat the grill to medium high heat and coat the rack with cooking spray. Place the chicken on the direct heat. Cover and grill for 5-10 minutes on each side, basting occasionally with the juice mixture. Move the chicken to the indirect heat and grill for an additional 5-10 minutes, basting occasionally. Grill until the juices run clear and the internal temperatures is 175 degrees.
Serves 2.

20110626-102445.jpg

My frozen drink that cooled me off from the heat of the grill!

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

