Bread, Wine, and Yarn

Tea this morning: English Breakfast from Sarabeth’s (in New York, yes we have the same name which is cool.) It is really early in the morning, but I was awake and feeling writer-ish. 🙂  And today is Yarn Along, perfect excuse to write! 🙂

Lately I have been reading a few books, but today I wanted to share my evening, just before bed book.  🙂  It sits on my nightstand waiting for me to read a paragraph or two.  The book is a collection of essays, which I find is one of the best before-bed kind of books.  Of course at times, I find myself staying up to read just one more essay.  Bread and Wine, written by Shauna Niequist, is “A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes”.  Oh, this book speaks to my soul! It talks about cooking, food, and entertaining, but also about the magic that happens when people share a meal together. The book reminds me a lot of Dinner, A Love Story, but the focus is on sharing a meal with people, friends, family members, and even acquaintances.  Shauna encourages one to open their home and have people over, even if it is just for pizza.  She shares how nourishment of the body and soul happen at the table, and she believes that we all could use a little more of this nourishment.

I’ll admit, I miss having people over.  Being in a new city, I do not even know where to begin to find people to have over for dinner.  In my romantic imaginings, I would just call someone up and tell them some scones are in the oven and would they like to come for tea.  Then five minutes, they come in and we enjoy some time together.  The hard part is, it takes time and patients.  Knowing someone that well takes a lot of time.  It will come, and I keep praying that I will find a kindred spirit that is willing to partake in tea, conversation, and faith with me.  It will come, and I’m praying for patience and the ability  to let it happen organically. This book though gives me a lot of hope, and it calls me to have courage to be open.

Newho, my knitting has been slow, but I have been taking more breaks during unpacking and knitting more.  I finished my first sleeve.  YAY!!! THAT TOKE FOREVER!  I had to reknit it at least three times.  And I started my second sleeve.  Since I am up early, I hope to have stuff done before the afternoon, and just take a few hours to knit and watch TV. 🙂

What are you reading and knitting?

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Yarn Along and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bread, Wine, and Yarn

  1. adelightfulglow says:

    I LOVE Bread and Wine. Such a good book and so inspiring. Prayers that some kindred spirits will come your way. It CAN take time. But, as Anne of Green Gables knows, it is worth the wait for that kindred spirit! And sometimes someone doesn’t at first appear a kindred spirit, but then time reveals they truly are!

    Coming by from Yarn Along!

  2. Donna Fiore says:

    I know that feeling well. It took a while to make good friends (which I did through work and then my daughter’s school) when we moved. It all worked out but you are correct – it does take patience. Maybe finding a knitting shop close by could be a good way to meet people with similar interests. I have made some of my closest friends through my spinning and knitting guild.

    • teawithsb says:

      I will! I have looked into a couple, but I chicken out of going. I will definitely try harder to go, maybe even get my hubby to push me to go. 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement.

  3. Lucy Bowen says:

    The book sounds great. Go to the shop and meet your kindred spirit. Or see if there are any groups on Ravelry – I have met a couple of great friends through Ravelry.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    We moved to a new area last year and I don’t have anyone I can ask round for tea and scones yet, but the internet has been a great help in making friends, I hope you feel settled soon!

    • teawithsb says:

      I hope you are able to find someone as well. I do love that technology connects us to loved ones. Sometimes I chat with my friends while having tea and scones; it is not the same but better than nothing. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Yarn Along 9 | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

