Yarn Along 8

Drinking: Pumpkin Spice Brûlée Oolong from Teavana

Joining Ginny.  The title is obvious, but also a good way of reminding me of my progress.

This week, I finished an old project and started a new one.  I also went yarn shopping, which was a mistake.  A friend sent me the Web yarn store sale, and I have several beautiful skeins of alpaca picked out, then I went to another yarn store and spent that money on some other beautiful skeins.  :/  I have to stop doing that.  Also, I need to remember to start at home and knit what I have…  Oh well.

  
To “knit along” with Sense and Sensibility I started a shawl.  The Margaret Dashwood shawl (oops, I thought it was Marianna’s) from Jane Austen Knits Summer 2012.  The pattern is very easy, but the yarn, though beautiful, it a bit more difficult to work with.  There are a lot of YO and k2tog; therefore, I have to be careful about how tight I knit my stitches.  I finished three repeats of the increasing pattern (there are 30), and I think I have the hang of it.  With some thought, this shawl is perfect for “Meg”.  It can be worn wrapped around the body so to keep her warm but gives her room to rummage around.

My impatience got the better of me and last night, while I started the project, I watched the BBC version of Sense and Sensibility instead of listening to the book. The Emma Thompson version better, and he more I am listening to Heather’s annotated version of the book, the more I see how brilliant Ms Thompson was when she wrote the screenplay.  🙂  However the BBC one is not without its charm, and the dashing Dan Stevens as Edward was rather delectable too.  🙂 Nothing can replace the beautiful and intricate nature of the book, but both movies can give us a good taste.

I finished my sister’s socks.  They turned out ok.  I need her to try them on first before I make my final declaration of them being “done”, but I think they are.  I also need to invest in a in-depth book in the construction of knitting socks.  

 Immortal In Death is very good.  Two nights ago, I read it before going to bed and realized, the next morning, the book might not be the best “before bedtime” story.  I did not sleep much due to my brain rolling the mystery over in my head.  Perhaps I should resume Sherlock Holmes.  (I know it is a mystery too, but it does not bother me as much.  Weird.)

So what have you been knitting and reading? Also, do you struggle with the same yarn struggles I have? 🙂

This entry was posted in Yarn Along and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 8

  1. Pingback: Yarn Along 9 | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

