Yarn Along 9

Joining Ginny, while drinking Marsala Chia.

Yarn Along 9

I seem to have developed ADD with my reading lately.  I am still reading Immortal in Death, but I picked up Bread and Wine again.  A friend at work spoke of reading short story books, and I realized I had not read Bread and Wine in a while, and it might be the answer to reading before going to bed.  The chapters are stories within themselves making them perfect snippets to read but not keep your mind preoccupied with the ending, mystery, or conflict resolution.  Of course the last chapter I read was perfect for the time in my life right now.  “Present over Perfect”.   Niequist talks about being available and enjoying the Christmas season instead of being obsessed with being perfect and completing the ultimate seasonal checklist.  The holidays are just around the corner, and having just moved, I find myself extremely stressed (to the point of being unproductive) about my guest room’s disarray and lack of outdoor decor.  My parents are coming to visit the week after next… they will be sleeping in the guest bedroom.  But as Niequist encourages, I want to welcome them with a rested peace and enjoy their company instead of having little sleep due to de-cluttering their room the night before.  (The schedule is VERY busy in-between now and then decreasing my cleaning time.)  So “present over perfect” will be repeating itself in my head the next few months.  Because honestly, wouldn’t our friends and families enjoy US more than our perfect decorations, gifts, and table spreads?  Again I highly recommend this book. 🙂

I’m also listening to Sense and Sensibility.  So good!!!

Teddy's Cardigan

My knitting is a bit more stream-lined.  I finished Teddy’s cardigan.  🙂 Now all that is needed is buttons.  I am thinking more traditional buttons. Now onto his hat!

I am also continuing the Margaret Shawl.  While I am typing this, I realize my desk is right under the vent! It is so cold!  Perhaps I shall knit something to stay at the desk to keep me warm.  🙂

So what are you knitting and reading?

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Yarn Along and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along 9

  1. Pom Pom says:

    The cardi is darling and I liked that book, too!

  2. Becki says:

    What a sweet sweater.

  3. Pingback: What I’m into… March 2016 | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

