Yarn Along 15

Drinking: Earl Grey Creme from Teavana with a Scone and Lemon Curd

Joining Ginny at the Small Things.

First Things First.  I just learned that my aunt has pretty advanced cancer.  Please send some prayers her way.  She is a wonderful, lovely person and has an awesome family. She will be starting chemo soon.  Thank you.

So What have I been knitting and reading lately?


Last week, I started a KAL with the knitting group I just joined.  Four of us are knitting the Woodland Hoodlet.  After their encouragement, I joined and bought the yarn and needles and started.  Holy cow.  This one of the most complex things I have made, but I am having fun learning new techniques and getting really good at cables.  🙂  I am calling it my Little Pink Riding Hoodlet.  😉  The front is almost finished after a couple of re-dos, and the back is mostly stockinette.  However, I need to wind the other four hanks of yarn.

I also finished the hubby’s hat.  🙂 He loves it and says his co-workers are jealous.  🙂


Books: I finished Sisterchicks Do the Hula, which was good.  I adore the author and have been encouraged by her books often.  The reading is light and fluffy, but there are some profound statements in all of her books.  Plus, I am really wanting to go to Hawaii this year, and this provided me with lots of hula dreams.  😉

I started two books this week.  I borrowed the audiobook of Etiquette & Espionage from the  library, but the loan ran out before I finished it.  And like all of Miss Carriger books I have really enjoyed it.  So I will probably buy the book and audiobook (did you know this?) and finish it soon.  After listening to a couple of hours of the book and knitting, I had a craving for tea.  The hubby was quite surprised to come home to high tea after work.  (That is where the scones and lemon curd are from.)

I also started Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich last night.  I have only read the first couple of chapters, but they are similar to the Number books that I love.  It shall be a fun read.

Sigh… I have not even made a dent in my reading challenges.  :/ And February is almost over.  However, the challenges are making me think of different things to read.  But I am not being successful in implementing it.

I did hear about this on the podcast Books on a Nightstand, and I am highly interested in looking more into it.  I am not a basketball fan (usually sports are only interesting if I know the people involved), but this is a fun way to get into “March Madness”.  😉

What are you reading and knitting?  Have a lovely week.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Yarn Along and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along 15

  1. Sending prayers your way….

  2. Amy Putkonen says:

    Sorry about your aunt. That is hard. I clicked through on the Whisper-Sync deal. That looks interesting. I do use Audible but I haven’t tried Whisper-sync yet. I may have to try it. I am visiting from the Yarn Along. Nice to meet you!

  3. Deanna says:

    I will pray for your Aunt and your family. My husband and I were just talking about cancer this morning and how much it sucks. On a lighter note, I was looking for a recipe for lemon curd, thanks for sharing about your Mom and her teatime and the recipe!

  4. Tim Hart says:

    Sending prayers for you Aunt and your family. I can feel you, I do have friends who is suffering with cancer and it feels horribly sad.

  5. Pingback: What I’m into… February 2016 | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

