What I’m into… March 2016

Hello all… March was very busy for me.  I went traveling to visit family and worked in between.  I had such a good time, but I am rather glad to be home and resting.  My body has been irritated with me for not sleeping or eating well.  However, there is a season for everything.

Books I’ve finished.

When He was Wicked. A lovely Bridgeton novel.  I have been slowly working through this series and have enjoyed it.  I talked my sister into buying the rest of the series. So I can finished them.  They are predictable, but enjoyable.

Our Lady of Pain.  So… you know when you read a book, and it is just bad?  Ug this book was not good. The rhythm and the storyline is just wrong, too fast sometimes, other times it is too slow, and the characters’ emotions are volatile and constantly, irrationally changing.  I did not like this book, and I am so thankful it was the last in the series (no I did not know it in a series).  I skimmed to the end and found out the ending of the whole series.  Which was very abrupt and unsatisfying.   So… please don’t read this book.

The Mountain Between Us.  I talked about it here.  Really good road trip book.

Cress and Winter.  Oh dear.  I love the Lunar Chronicles series.  I stumbled upon them through a reading challenge, and loved every minute of it.  Each book is a continuation of the original story, but the author adds new characters into the mix.  The story is a fantasy, dystopic, fairy tale mix that I love.  🙂 I highly recommend it.

Books I’ve started.

Cold Tangerines: Celebrating the Extraordinary Nature of Everyday Life.  This is another book by Shauna Niequist.  My mother-in-law gave it to me for my birthday.  She gave me my previous book by Mrs. Neiquist, which I loved.

The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress.  I heard about this on Books on the Nightstand and was interested.  I have only read a few chapters, and though it seems a bit dark, I am still interested.

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things.  Written by Jenny Lawson.  I have read her blog a few times when darkness seems be unrelenting and never ending.  Her blog is a good blog to read to understand more about depression.  This book… lol.  I have only read about 20 pages, but it is hilarious.  I was in a doctor’s waiting and started giggling uncontrollably.  So funny, but her experiences are also comforting because they are relatable.  I think I am going to enjoy this book.

Food I’ve been cooking

Quiche.  I was in the mood for spring foods.  And nothing says spring like Quiche (eggs…). 🙂   I added sautéed onions, asparagus, and spinach with goat cheese.  The combination was delicious except I did not add enough eggs to it.  So remember, when making a quiche, add more eggs than you think.

Spilled Milk’s Cauliflower Mix. (It’s a name I made up).  I heard about this delicious stuff on Spilled Milk’s podcast of cauliflower and fell in love.  (Though honestly if it has an egg on top, I will be in love.)  Mix sliced onions, drained chickpeas, and cauliflower together.  Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garam masala.  Roast at 400 degrees for about 20-30 minutes.  Then fry an egg and eat it on top!  So good.


Spring Risotto.  I was in the mood for more spring food. 🙂 And I made Ina’s Spring Green Risotto with brown rice. Ah… brown rice takes a bit longer… a forever longer than normal risotto which takes a bit longer than most.  Overall it was delicious.  It just toke me… three glasses of wine to make it.  hehe.

Drinks

Earl Grey Creme.  Favorite tea.  My mother-in-law gave me more.  Hehehe….

Obsessions

The beach.  We visited Gulf Shore, AL with T’s family.  And oh my, I forgot how much I loved the beach.  Between mountain and beach, I prefer beach.  It was so lovely, and I constantly am reminded how small I am and how great God is.


I changed my capsule wardrobe to the Spring version.  Out with the sweaters and in with the skirts.  I bought several new additions from Kohls and Maurices (new store I rediscovered).  So far I am loving everything I bought.

Podcasts

I started listening to the new Craft Lit book, The Count of Monte Cristo.  I love the beginning talks and the after talk, but I am not a huge fan of the narrator.  So I bought an Audible version of it.  Since the book was originally in French, I have difficulty understanding most of the French words, and the craft lit narrator is has a heavy accent and I have a hard understanding him.  The Audible version is read by a British guy who pronounces the French name correctly.  It is a little bit complicated, but I am enjoying it. 🙂

TV

I finished the Mysteries of Laura.  And I loved it.  Now for the second season…

New Links

I found these.  And I WANT ONE!!  It is glitter dipped wine glasses and coffee mugs!!  Hello!

I loved this to help me plan out packing while traveling.  This blog has such cute stuff as well!  After I planned my outfits out, I just looked at the planner when I got dressed.  It was really nice.

Thoughts

I wrote this during Easter.  I had a lovely weekend with family and enjoy a traditional Easter weekend complete with egg hunts and fried chicken.


The beach had this song in my head for most of the time.
After a month of traveling, my body is tired and has forced me to slow down, so lesson learned.  Take care of yourself.

 

I’m joining Leigh this month.  What have you been up to this March?

This entry was posted in What I'm Into and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’m into… March 2016

  1. Leigh Kramer says:

    The Lunar Chronicles series is SO GOOD! Glad you enjoyed them. I really liked The Wife, The Maid, And The Mistress! Lawhon’s next book is out and I can’t wait to dive into that one. I like how she brings history to life.

  2. Tim Hart says:

    Nice series, I will surely have a copy of the next book.

Leave a Reply

