Book Nerd Alert

I am experiencing a total freak out moment.  I listen to podcasts about books, but there are times when I think the few podcasts I listen to are from very different walks of life.  However, today two of them and I collided.  🙂

 

I listen to What to Read Next Podcast.  Anne from Modern Mrs Darcy talks to readers and recommends three books based on their talk, books they love, one book they hate, and what they want in their reading life.  In the most recent podcast, she veers away from her normal program to talk books with founders of SheReads.org (still have visited yet, but will do when I finish with this awe-inspired post).  They have a really good conversation, and I learned a few things about recommending books particularly on this blog.  And I was even more encouraged to had the courage to put a book down if it is not something that speaks to me or brings me joy.  The two ladies, Ariel and Mary Beth, talk about their books styles and they talk heavily about how becoming authors has changed their book habits.  I really enjoyed this podcast, and their discussion.

A couple of days ago, I finished The Wife, The Maid, and The Mistress.  The book was… so good.  (I know… not a great description).  After finishing the book, I wanted to write out my thoughts.  After the ending, I wanted to sit back and bask in the information.  I almost wanted to start rereading it again.  This is a completely different feeling I had at the beginning of the book.  In the beginning I wanted to categorize it with Gone Girl under “Books that are awesome but I don’t Like the Characters”.  This was changed as I finished the book.  And I wanted to write my thoughts out.  The Modern Mrs Darcy does have a reading journal, and Anne encourages people to write in their journal probably for this very reason.  I contemplating it when I listened to the podcast.

Spoiler…

I should also mention that I did not realize the book was based on a true story.  Yes that might not be a spoiler to a lot of people, but it CHANGED everything once I finished the book.  It changed my outlook, my view of the characters, the love of the dates etc.

So now to the freakout moment.  At the very end of the podcast as I am thinking of sharing my thoughts on here about the amazing book I just finished, Anne ends the podcast talking about the books these women wrote and their website.  She says, “Ariel’s latest novel, Flight of Dreams….”  OMG!!!!  She’s… what? I mean What???!!?!?!?!?!?!!?!?!?

I FREAKEN JUST LISTENED TO THE AUTHOR OF MY LASTEST GOOD BOOK JUST TALK ABOUT BOOKS AND INSPIRE ME TO WRITE ABOUT HER BOOK IN A JOURNAL! WHAT?! AND TWO OF MY FAVORITE PODCASTS HAVE COLLIDED IN MY UNIVERSE! WHAT?! OH MY GOODNESS I HAVE TO TELL SOMEONE I CAN HARDLY CONTAIN MYSELF.

lol.

And now I am sharing it with y’all.  Cause my dog was looking at me like I was crazy.  Now I am going to go look up their website and print off the reading journal.  I am still in awe.

 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Nerd Alert

  1. Pingback: What I Am Into… April 2016 | Tea with SB

Leave a Reply

