Five Things about June… 2016

I hope everyone had a lovely Fourth of July. We had a good time watching the fireworks from our patio and playing checkers of course I lost because I kept getting distracted. 😉

June was a bit daunting for me.  So because the month flew by, this What I am Into… will be a bit shorter.  Joining Leigh… Here’s five things about my June.

  • I had my first surgery in June.  It was at the beginning of June and was not a “major” surgery.  Everything went well, and my hubby and family (and friends) toke great care of me.  Here’s what I learned from the experience:
    1. Patients coming out of surgery need nibbles.  I was always needing something small so I would not be taking my meds on an empty stomach.  My mom, thankfully, brought a big box of yummy biscotti.  She’s a pretty smart woman!
    2. If you ever have to have surgery, give yourself time.  I was exhausted even beyond a few days afterwards.  Again… Thankfully my family and friends were very encouraging for me to rest and take my time.
  • I am still obsessing over the Popcast.  It is still my favorite podcast, and I start listening to it before finished some of my other pending podcasts.
  • I decided I will be painting my walls soon.  My house is all beige and makes me sad.  After watching tons of hours of HGTV and FixerUpper, I am determined to add some color to this house.   Also I am going to continue to redecorate my kitchen with the Pioneer Woman’s cookware but also add in my own person touches I like of farmhouse kitchens.  I have embraced the MidWest vibe and am adding lots to my Pinterest board.
  • I finished a pair of socks.  Yay.  I am in love with the Felici sock yarn.  It is released once a year (which happened this month), so I recommend stocking up!  I am ready to cast on another pair.
  • I started watching Death in Paradise, which has been tons of fun.  A friend recommended it to me, and I am enjoying the mixture of British and beach vibes.  😉

Our 4th of July celebration.

Time flew by during June, and these are what stand out in my mind.  Life has definitely been hectic!  I hope you guys have a wonderful July! Be safe and enjoy our Independence.

This entry was posted in What I'm Into and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Things about June… 2016

  1. Tanya Marlow says:

    Hi! Coming to you from Leigh Kramer’s. Sorry about the surgery, though I can definitely relate to the surprise and frustration of exhaustion, because I have a chronic illness that leaves me with a very low battery. Hope you fully recover soon!

Leave a Reply

