Kitchen Skills: Skinning Peaches

I adore cooking and baking! Some of my happiest moments are in the kitchen; however, there are certain skills I shy away from because they scare me.  Julia Child would be sad, and some skills are so simple. Usually, when I have a bout of fearlessness, I attempt these skills.  This new ongoing series is mainly about these skills, recipes, and other “basics” in the kitchen that I try out or have encouraged others to try.  

First up: (well… Since I had this idea to put it under a blog heading ;> ) 

Skill: Peeling peaches!


Courage source: I usually eat the skins, even in cobbler. No, this is not because of health benefits. Yes, it is because I was too lazy and nervous about peeling peaches the correct way. However, today I did it!  My grocery story had huge bags of peaches on sale, and I bought one. I used the peaches in cobbler and a few bowls of yogurt, but the rest of the peaches were sitting in the fridge waiting for me to can (or go bad because I never found the courage or time).  :/ Recently I have been reading (…um… stalking) The Fundamental Home, and the author deeply encourages nothing to go to waste. For a long time I have felt guilty about letting veggies and fruits go bad and meats go rancid simply because I forget they are there. Today, I remembered the bag of peaches and decided to freeze them. I have a few canning recipes I want to try, but that’s another skill for another day when I have time.  So… Instead of wasting even more of the fruit’s flesh, I googled how to peel peaches. 

Instructions: Here’s the website I followed. I used my stopwatch on my phone to count. 
Verdict: It was relatively easy! The hardest part was getting all the small pieces off the peach. The boiling water and ice bath were nothing. Towards the end, I play a game of trying to get the largest piece of skin off. Competing with myself.  I also think the small pieces were due to the age of the peaches and the learning process. So… I will definitely be doing this again although probably not every time I have peaches. But this is one step closer to canning the peaches (which the hubby would be thrilled for me to do). I encourage you to try it for yourself. 

I leave you with these quotes from Mrs. Child: 

The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.

Learn how to cook – try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless and above all have fun.

This entry was posted in Kitchen Skills and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

