Tea Tasting

A fellow kindred spirit surprisingly gifted me with 6 new teas and a tea tin.  Just because she loves me.  🙂  Even though, I received this gift a few weeks ago, I have yet to have the time to sit down and taste these!  There are several new teas that I am excited to see what I think.


List of the teas included:

  • Spiced Mandarin Oolong Tea
  • Peach Momotaro Blooming Tea
  • Sakura Allure Green Tea
  • Rooibos Chai
  • Pumpkin Spice Brûlée Oolong Tea
  • Matavana Herbal Tea
  • and a tea tin and …
  • (my favorite) a box of Twinnings Earl Grey!

When I opened it, I felt a warmth, very close to a hug, which she gives wonderful hugs.  🙂

Here are my thoughts as I taste test each tea. 🙂 Enjoy

Spiced Mandarin Oolong: (I could not find this on Teavana’s website, but I did find it on their app.  Weird).

  • Here is their description: “Journey along the Asian spice trading routes and savor the rich exotic flavors of juicy tangerines, lemons, and ripe blood oranges perfectly blended with cinnamon, ginger, star anise, cloves, and pepper.  With its wonderful mix of sweet circus fruits and traditional chai pieces, this delicious flavored Chinese oolong tea is destined to become an everyday favorite.” (Well, if you no longer sell it, what happens when you run out?)  Newho.
  • Thoughts: The citrus is very apparent but has a deeper flavor.  I can find the spice in the fragrance but not the taste so much.  I do really enjoy this tea.  I would pair it with my cranberry and orange scones and maybe some dark chocolate.  Yum!

Peach Momotaro Artisan Blooming Tea:

  • Their Description: “Hand-tied, this artisanal display tea is both beautiful to behold and tantalizing to taste. With a crown of regal marigold flowers, each peach-scented white tea ball unfurls with flavor and can be infused three to five times.”
  • Thoughts: I can definitely taste the Peach.  It is very light, but VERY COOL to watch it bloom.  🙂

Sakura Allure Green Tea

  • Their Description: “An enchanting green tea blend, this spiritual coupling of floral and fruit come alive as rose and hibiscus interwine with lively cherry, mango and candied pineapple.”
  • Thoughts:  I am not usually a fan of fruity teas, but this tea has floral notes that make it a lovely cup for spring and summer.  I almost wonder how it would be iced!?  It reminds me of the Longbourn Wedding Tea from Bingley Teas.  I think it is the roses. 🙂

Rooibos Chai

  • Their Description: “Spicy cinnamon, cardamom husks, piquant ginger and lightly citrusy lemongrass brew to a blissful honey-amber infusion. A caffeine-free chai perfect for watching the sunset over the Ganges River or just enjoying the evening sun in your own backyard.”
  • Thoughts: To me, this is a true chai tea.  Though it is not a black base, it is a intently calming and spicy.  I am excited for something to drink on cool nights when I want something a bit stronger.

Pumpkin Spice Brûlée Oolong Tea

  • Their Description: “A bountiful harvest of sweetness and spice, this warming oolong is an impeccable accompaniment to crisp autumn days. A balanced swirl of rich pumpkin and flavors of caramel, toffee, butterscotch, and creamy vanilla, this rich and smooth cup is a sublime indulgence for the body and mind any time of day.”
  • Thoughts:  Ahh… We all know I love this tea.  It is a perfect fall tea.

MataVana Herbal Tea

  • Their Description: “It’s not coffee, is it tea? Taste this coffee-like maté and red rooibos blend. Sweetened with cocoa and chocolate chips, this mochaccino inspired blend infuses smooth, dark rich sips that are soft and robust.”
  • Thoughts: I do like this tea a lot.  It is very flavorful and “robust”.  I can taste the coffee notes.  Overall very yummy!

I hope get to try some of these out. Or at least some new teas to you!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Tea Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

